The Castle Room

Standard

Welcome to Do & Redo, where we measure twice, cut once, scratch our heads when it doesn’t fit, re-measure, re-cut, and (hopefully) make it fit!  Thank you so much for stopping by to visit my new blog!There are so many fabulous blogs out there, and I’m excited to enter the blogosphere!  (Um, yes, I do like exclamation points!)

I can’t wait to share some of our many projects with you!  Be warned that I am NOT a photographer.  Most pictures were probably taken with my phone & “proper lighting” is a term I have yet to learn. 🙂  However, I WILL do my best to share measurements of each room.  So, that’s a good trade for poor photography, right??

Anyway, why wait?!  Here’s one of our first projects in this house.  Our girls call it “The Castle Room”.  It is probably the smallest room in the house & has undergone a few more changes since this initial redo.  I will “keep it real” by the way – very little staging & LOTS of junk strewn around most of the time!

Right side of the room Before.  The window wall is 96 1/2″ long.  The wall with the little attic door is 83″ long.

The dormer is 68 1/2″ deep. The window wall is 39″ wide. See that blank dormer wall? It will eventually change to a recessed closet with built in drawers. Eventually.

This wall is 127″ of pure blankness. Well, except for the toys….

Probably enough “Befores” to get the idea.  So, now for the “Afters”!

The curtain panel came from Lowe’s. Yes, it’s my favorite store. No, Lowe’s isn’t paying me to say that. The paint color is Disney’s something or other. I’m pretty sure it had the word “Enchanted” in it. If I find the paint chip, I’ll update with the color name.

We hung the gold sheers from tension rods & attached curtain tie backs to the wall. The sheers came from Lowe’s. The rods and tie backs came from Wal-Mart. Is “tie backs” the right terminology for those things? I dunno.

This redo was done several years ago, so I wasn’t very good about lots of photos.  Notice how clean the floors are, though.  That’s probably why there are no “afters” of the other 2 walls – all the toys are crammed over there!

This room has already undergone some “Redos”, so stay tuned for those, as well as a furniture update that went with this “do”.

Thanks for stopping by, I’d love to hear your thoughts!  Well, the nice ones anyway.  🙂

About doandredo

Hi! I'm Karen & this is my space to relate our remodel adventures. I'm the wife of a (very) patient man, mom to three beautiful teens and one spoiled pooch. My hubby has said (more than once) that even if we bought a brand new home, I'd be repainting it as soon as we moved in. He's right! So come on in & enjoy the fun!

One response »

  1. Goody! Love, love, love to see your projects! And now that you live in another state… It’s not so easy! Keep it up! The blog idea is fantastic!

Leave a Reply

