Weekend Recap and Project Ideas

Standard

Morning!  I hope every.single.one.of you had a GREAT weekend!  We did!  My girls spent Friday plotting deciding they wanted to change their rooms.  The ring leader eldest is an aspiring interior decorator and has a severe case of finickyness.  If that’s not a word, it should be.  She changes her mind & design often.  Kind of like me…  ANYway, it led to some fun conversations and work for me.  Yay.

Fair warning – this will be an iPhone photo intensive post.  Sorry, but that’s how I roll right now.  There are a few “regular” camera shots as well, but with my amazing photography skills, you won’t be able to tell the difference.  🙂

Saturday morning was spent taking down curtains, changing out the hardware, and swapping curtains around in the girls’ rooms.  The kids’ have decided on a “Morroccan” theme for their den.  Don’t think they (or I) know what that means, but we’ll try it.  Sooo, the kid den got a set of curtains that were in our regular den several years ago.

Hard to tell, but they are burgandy with a gold design on them.

The youngest, who has the Castle Room now, wanted one set of gold curtains shortened.  I did this by running a tension rod through the bottom of the curtain & hanging the bottom tension rod under the top tension rod.

She also wanted the other set of gold curtains, that had previously been in the Castle Room, rehung.  So, I did.  But this time I did use sturdier hardware than a tension rod.  These are actually hung on a shelf rod with brackets made to go on the inside of a closet system.

My eldest thought she wanted a “Morroccan” theme as well, but has now decided on “African”.  You know, cause it’s been a day since I hung the other set of den curtains in her room…. No after pic of that, but they are same as the set in Kids’ Den.

I also decided one of my decorative birdhouses needed to “lighten up” this weekend. 

I love this birdhouse.  It actually has a little glass knob that goes just below the ‘entrance’.  It is made of reclaimed barn wood & I’ve had it for about 15 years.  Literally.

I’ll give you the ‘after’ and a ‘redo’ (yeah, already) later this week. We also have the new light for the kids den & I’ll (hopefully) get some kitchen pics up too this week.  But for now I have to drop kids at sewing lessons & head to a lunch meeting to work on some improvements to our Special Needs Ministry.  Soo excited!

Here’s a pic of my cute assistant as a reward for looking at all my REALLY bad photography!

Can you stand the cuteness!?!  Seriously, I have no idea how I get anything done with this much help! 😉

Happy Monday!

 

About doandredo

Hi! I'm Karen & this is my space to relate our remodel adventures. I'm the wife of a (very) patient man, mom to three beautiful teens and one spoiled pooch. My hubby has said (more than once) that even if we bought a brand new home, I'd be repainting it as soon as we moved in. He's right! So come on in & enjoy the fun!

Leave a Reply

