Do One Thing

Standard

I don’t know about you, but we have a “To Do” list about a 1/2 mile long.  And then there’s the “Honey Do” list that’s even longer.  There’s also a daily “to do” list.  You get the idea.  We are overloaded with lists (and projects) around here. 

One day my hubby came to me and announced that he would start coming home and doing one thing off his list every day.  One thing.  Why was that so profound?  Why did we not think of that 6 years ago when we moved into this fixer upper, 1986 monstrosity with country blue wallpaper and 3 colors of carpet?  Oh, we tackled projects.  Big ones.  But then we got tired.  And overwhelmed.  So, we stopped.  It was easier to watch tv or play Mexican Train on the Nook than look at ALL those stinkin’ lists!

Since that day a couple of weeks ago, the hubby has faithfully started marking off items on the list.  Some big.  Some smaller.  But each day (except Sunday) one thing comes off the list.  I have jumped on the “One Thing” wagon as well.  Since a heel spur & plantar fasciitis (?) have stopped my morning walks for now, I get up & work in the yard.  It’s cooler at 6:30 am here in the land of “fry your eggs on the sidewalk” heat.  I water the hydrangeas and do one other thing – mulch a flower bed, fill in holes the dog dug, etc.

So, if you’re feeling overwhelmed by your lists, just take it one thing at a time.  You can do it!  The Mexican Train ain’t going anywhere sister.  It’ll be there when you get done.

About doandredo

Hi! I'm Karen & this is my space to relate our remodel adventures. I'm the wife of a (very) patient man, mom to three beautiful teens and one spoiled pooch. My hubby has said (more than once) that even if we bought a brand new home, I'd be repainting it as soon as we moved in. He's right! So come on in & enjoy the fun!

Leave a Reply

