Mommy Time & Thrifting Finds

Standard

How was your weekend?  Hope you were able to find some respite from this infernal heat!  Being the intelligent person that I am, I chose to actually be IN the heat most of Saturday.  Crazy. I know.

My sweet hubby gave me this past weekend off.  I didn’t have to do anything I didn’t want to do.  I could go out of town, or stay in town.  I could shop, nap, thrift, eat out, whatever.  He held down the fort & took over the kids.  Yeah, I think I’ll keep him.  🙂 So, I hit my first outdoor flea market on Saturday morning in Collinsville, AL & sported a wasp sting within 5 minutes of arriving.  Are wasps like a required feature at these things, because they were EVERYWHERE!  Thankfully, I’m not allergic, so I just kept going.   There were SO many people & the vendors were crazy varied!  Something for everyone for sure.  I was pretty excited to round a corner & find these lovelies waiting for purchase:

The small one was only $5 and the large one was $20.  Later that afternoon, I saw one almost identical to the small one at a consignment store.  It was priced at $24.  Can you believe it?!

I then drove to the Birmingham area to check out some thrift stores and our Habitat Restore.

I found these pretty pillowcases for $1 each at the Lovelady Thrift Store.  Love them!

This cutwork sham was only $.75!  I’m a cutwork, battenburg lace nut, so I HAD to have it!

I was also on the hunt for a baker’s rack to put on our covered deck.  For months, I have looked for one to no avail.  Saturday I came across no less than 6 while thrifting.  Can you believe the prices they ask for these things??  They ranged from $75 to $250.  WHAT?!  Then I found this at our America’s Thrift Store –

$50.  Yep.  I snagged that one in a hurry for sure! While there I also came across this linen, king size duvet cover for $7, blue striped valance for $2, and damask shower curtain with trim for $5.

It turned out to be a great thrifting weekend & some great Mommy Time (or Time Off!)!

Sunday was truly a day of rest – after I got up at 4:45am and drove to another outdoor flea market.  More wasps and LOTS of BRAS?!  Bras??  At a flea market??  Crazy.  So, I spent about 30 minutes there, filled up with gas & was home in time for worship service.  Then I took a nap.  Wow.  Haven’t had one of those in a while!

I’m linking up to Rhoda’s party! (And hopefully the button will work, so you can hop over there & do the same!)

About doandredo

Hi! I'm Karen & this is my space to relate our remodel adventures. I'm the wife of a (very) patient man, mom to three beautiful teens and one spoiled pooch. My hubby has said (more than once) that even if we bought a brand new home, I'd be repainting it as soon as we moved in. He's right! So come on in & enjoy the fun!

One response »

Leave a Reply

