Birdhouse Redo

Standard

Happy 4th to everyone!  Sorry I don’t have any fun, patriotic things to show you today.  BUT, I do have the completed birdhouse redo!  (I’m sure your day wouldn’t have been complete without it!)  🙂

Here is the “before”:  (Well the ‘almost before’ since I had already removed the glass knob..)

I LOVED this birdhouse as it was, but it was just too dark for the redone den.  So, I decided to lighten it up a bit.

Hmmm..the roof wasn’t quite right, so I sanded it a bit to  uncover some of the original brown.  Then it was too brown.  So, I ran up to the craft room & grabbed some gray acrylic paint and rubbed it on with a paper towel.  Here is how it looks now:

Not much difference, really, just more gray than brown on the roof.  I think I like it….we’ll see.

Note to self:  Do not sand & paint while wearing a little black dress.  Even when you wear latex gloves.  Because when you remove the latex gloves, you tend to wipe your hands on whatever you are wearing.

Anyway, here’s how the lightened up birdhouse looks in it’s home:

Yeah, the mantle is pretty bare.  To me, more stuff just means more to dust.  And I don’t like to dust.

Have a wonderful holiday!  We’re working on the kitchen redo today.  I painted several of the soon-to-be-gone cabinet doors in an effort to decide on the future cabinet color.  What do you think?

About doandredo

Hi! I'm Karen & this is my space to relate our remodel adventures. I'm the wife of a (very) patient man, mom to three beautiful teens and one spoiled pooch. My hubby has said (more than once) that even if we bought a brand new home, I'd be repainting it as soon as we moved in. He's right! So come on in & enjoy the fun!

Leave a Reply

