Fan Redo…Again

Standard

So, I spent about 45 minutes putting up a post on a fan redo.  And when I hit “Publish” it disappeared.  Grrrr….  For real, this “redo” thing is just going a little nuts!  Let’s try again…

We have a workhorse of a box fan.  It’s been through a LOT and it looked like it!  Here it is before:

So, I removed the grates and gave them a good scrub…

Then I showed that rust a little steel wool love.  Wear gloves when using steel wool.  Trust me.

Once that was done, I took the fan motor off the frame and wrapped it in a garbage bag.  Then I lightly sanded the frame and swiped on some metal primer.  Note to self – ALWAYS use spray on primer.  You’ll see why in a minute.  Once the primer dried, I sprayed on several coats of Krylon gloss paint in Banner Red.  It looked a little like a crime scene….

Once that dried I put everything back together and here she is…..

Well, phooey!  The tape I wrapped around the handle & knob obviously wasn’t on good enough.  Nothing the hub’s favorite screw driver a little nail polish remover and cotton swab can’t fix.  Those swirly paint brush marks around the handle and knob?  Yeah.  That’s why spray on primer is better.

Here’s our little workhouse after clean up:

Cute!  And it only cost me a little blood (inner frames are a tad sharp!) and a lot of sweat (it’s hot in the South, honey!).  The paint and primer were already on hand from other projects.

Now to go work on the kitchen.  Again.

About doandredo

Hi! I'm Karen & this is my space to relate our remodel adventures. I'm the wife of a (very) patient man, mom to three beautiful teens and one spoiled pooch. My hubby has said (more than once) that even if we bought a brand new home, I'd be repainting it as soon as we moved in. He's right! So come on in & enjoy the fun!

Leave a Reply

