DIY Kitchen Remodel Update – Painting Cabinets

Standard

The upper cabinets are painted!  Yay!  We are so stinkin’ excited to get at least the upper cabinets painted.  Oh.My.Word! They look a million times better already & we don’t even have doors yet!  You can see some fabulous before pics here.  Just, um, brace yourself before you click over to that….yyyeeeaaaahh.  ANYway, here is where we are now:

The lovely microwave cord is one of the fun things we will fix in the near future.  Be glad you can’t see the holes some knucklehead literally knocked into the wood to put that outlet in.  Mercy.

And here is the fridge side.

Those 3 drawers held EVERYTHING from the entire upper cabinet section while we were painting!  Crazy!! The new cabinet Jimmy built over the fridge is PERFECT for my cooling racks, baking stones and muffin tins.  We’re just using some stand alone pot racks to keep them upright.  That will give me more freedom, since I have small commitment issues when it comes to organization.  And paint colors.  And furniture placement….Let’s talk about painting those babies, shall we?  🙂

The first thing we did was remove the old doors and clean the fronts and sides of the cabinets.  The insides are not real wood & had been covered by doors, so no cleaning.  I also did not clean the old shelves as they were particle board & we were replacing with new wood shelves.  I used TSP to clean.  It’s fabulous & a little goes a long way.  I got it at Benjamin Moore.

Once the fronts were clean & dry (wait at least a day to be on the safe side), we primed with Prime Loc.  (Again recommended by & purchased at Benjamin Moore.)  May I just say that I.hate.priming.  I just do.  It’s gooey and we clean the brushes with smelly gas.  Gross.  Not to mention we use old brushes and they are just no fun.  And fun is important to me.

After the yukky priming stage comes the paint.  We decided to go with Benjamin Moore’s Navajo White.  I used it in our Master Bath & we love how it looks.  We tested some grays & greens on the old doors, but just didn’t think we’d love any of them for very long.  Here are some we tried:

The darker green on the left had a fighting chance until we hung it up to see it in place.  No go.  So, white it is.  The Navajo White is more of an off-white with a slight tinge of yellow.  It’s not working well with the yellow walls, so those will be going Realist Beige (Sherwin Williams) along with the rest of the main floor.  It’s a really good greige that I have fallen in love with recently.

Hubs cut new wood shelves, put up the crown molding & helped paint this weekend.  It finally looks like we’re actually making progress!

So what did you do this weekend?  Please don’t say you got to lie around on the beach and read all weekend.  That would just be mean.  🙂

About doandredo

Hi! I'm Karen & this is my space to relate our remodel adventures. I'm the wife of a (very) patient man, mom to three beautiful teens and one spoiled pooch. My hubby has said (more than once) that even if we bought a brand new home, I'd be repainting it as soon as we moved in. He's right! So come on in & enjoy the fun!

Leave a Reply

