I chose to carpe diem!

Standard

You know, I got up this morning with every intention of working on this:

Definitely time to get the base cabinets painted.  But, then I also need to work on this…

Yeah.  That wall has been like that for about 6 months a little while.

Then I looked into the dining room that we are transforming into a home office/computer room….

Still need to move the desk, etc in here.  (But, in my defense, I did vacuum.)  As I contemplated the list of “in process” projects, my youngest came in and made a request.  “Can we go to the library today?”   As I looked at her, my heart whispered that time is flying by.  Yesterday I had these..

And now I have these..

My list of projects will never end, because that’s just how I am.  The calendar will never really be blank, which is a good thing.  But today….well, today was really mostly blank.  And school starts in 1 week.  So my answer to her was, “We sure can.”  Not only did we go to the library, but to a favorite restaurant, favorite stores, and favorite bakery.  We lived, laughed and loved our morning away.   All because I chose to “carpe diem” and let the rest wait.  I will never regret it.

Do you ever find yourself just letting the dust sit a little longer?  The paint bucket wait a little while?  The sewing machine rest?

 

About doandredo

Hi! I'm Karen & this is my space to relate our remodel adventures. I'm the wife of a (very) patient man, mom to three beautiful teens and one spoiled pooch. My hubby has said (more than once) that even if we bought a brand new home, I'd be repainting it as soon as we moved in. He's right! So come on in & enjoy the fun!

Leave a Reply

