A Kitchen Update

Standard

Hope everyone had a GREAT weekend! We were busy as usual.  Hubs is almost finished painting & putting up the new cabinet doors.  Yay!  Just so you can see the difference, here is a “before”…

Have I told you lately how I feel about Country Blue……not my favorite.  Now that you’ve experienced THAT loveliness, here is where we are today:

      

Sooo much better!  We took out the peninsula/bar that was blocking our door to the deck and it has made a HUGE difference!  We (thankfully) had some of the flooring the previous owners left, so we were able to patch the floor where the bar was.  The cabinets were already framed out to the ceiling, but for some reason they closed that off with plywood.  I dunno.  But it saved us a lot of money since we could just use the cabinets we had.  Yay!  We ordered the doors from a cabinet company in MS.  I’ll have to find the invoice to tell you the name of it.  The grimy ceiling fan is now a florescent light (that I love) and the light over the sink is now a cutie-pazootie light.  We didn’t put up a pendant light, because these are 1986 popcorn ceilings & we really didn’t want to mess with them right now.  Oh!  Hubby also built the cabinet out over the fridge so I could use it for my baking sheets & cooling racks.  Love it!

We still have a ways to go – new appliances, door fronts on the 3 new doors hubby made for me, paint the old hardware and put it back on, paint the walls, new floor, etc.  But, we’re getting there!

About doandredo

Hi! I'm Karen & this is my space to relate our remodel adventures. I'm the wife of a (very) patient man, mom to three beautiful teens and one spoiled pooch. My hubby has said (more than once) that even if we bought a brand new home, I'd be repainting it as soon as we moved in. He's right! So come on in & enjoy the fun!

Leave a Reply

