Easy Shepherd’s Pie Recipe

Standard

Look!  Two posts on two days – in.a.row.  Thankyouverymuch!  🙂
Moms always seem to be looking for easy recipes that can be made ahead, thrown in a crock pot, or thrown together quickly.  I know I’m not alone in this!  So, today I thought I would share my easy recipe for Shepherd’s Pie.  We have a family of 5, so keep that in mind.  You may want to double it if you have big eaters, more eaters, or want left-overs.

All you need is 1-2 pounds of lean ground beef, 1 jar of fat free beef gravy, 5 baking potatoes or 2 containers of Simply Potatoes, and shredded cheddar cheese.

Brown & drain your ground beef.  Pour it into a 9 x 11 casserole dish.  Pour gravy over the top.  If you are using baking potatoes, then either bake or boil them and mash them.  When I use “real” potatoes, I mash them with salt, pepper & milk.  Personal choice & it tastes a lot better than the Simply Potatoes to me.  But, if you are in a rush like I was this particular day, grab some fake taters & keep rollin’.  Spread the mashed potatoes over the top of the beef/gravy.  Sprinkle however much cheese you want over that.  We like cheese….

A lot.

Then just pop it into your 350 degree oven for about 15-20 minutes, which is about how long it will take for the kids to complain put ice in the glasses, wipe & set the table while you take off those heels.  That’s it!  Did I take a pic of the final, bubbly, gooey, goodness?  Nope.  Use your imagination.  Or take a pic of yours & send it to me to share.  🙂

About doandredo

Hi! I'm Karen & this is my space to relate our remodel adventures. I'm the wife of a (very) patient man, mom to three beautiful teens and one spoiled pooch. My hubby has said (more than once) that even if we bought a brand new home, I'd be repainting it as soon as we moved in. He's right! So come on in & enjoy the fun!

Leave a Reply

