Recycling Ice Cream Buckets

Standard

So, is it recycling or upcycling??  I dunno.  What I DO know is that we go through a LOT of ice cream in this house & that leaves a LOT of ice cream buckets laying around!  Yes, I could send them to the recycling center, but since I have a small addiction to storage containers & the lids are pretty much air tight, I keep them.  So, here are some ideas for reusing your plastic ice cream buckets.  Ours look like this –

I tried painting a few of them with Rust-Oleum paint.  It worked fine – until I had to move in front of the A/C unit.  At that point, the paint started cracking – possibly because the unit was on & so the air dried the paint too quickly.

Most of them are still plain-jane looking, since I’m not so good at cutsey.  But, they would be easy to spiff up with some ribbon, lace, twine, vinyl letters from a Silhouette (that I’m STILL trying to win!), etc.  You cutesy, I’ll be utilitarian.  🙂

Here are some ways we use our buckets –

Corral travel mugs

  Cookie cutter stash

  Toys at church specifically for our special needs friends

  Pet care items

The uses are infinite!  Think small books, hair care, spray paint, craft paint, paint brushes & supplies, packing tape, safety glasses (in felt pockets – that’s for another day), small stuffed animals, ribbon (just punch holes in sides to pull through), party supplies, neighbor/party  gifts, etc.

Hopefully, that’s given you something to think about.  Make yours cute & send me some pics, so I’ll have a clue what to do on that end!

About doandredo

Hi! I'm Karen & this is my space to relate our remodel adventures. I'm the wife of a (very) patient man, mom to three beautiful teens and one spoiled pooch. My hubby has said (more than once) that even if we bought a brand new home, I'd be repainting it as soon as we moved in. He's right! So come on in & enjoy the fun!

Leave a Reply

