Tomato Graveyard

Standard

You know, I’ve been married almost 17 years now & a mom for almost 13.  We’ve had tomatoes for a number of those years.  I don’t really like tomatoes, other than a slice or two here & there on a burger or salad.  My hubby & kids, however, LOVE those things.  They just slice ’em up & eat them with a little salt & pepper – or not.  Eww.

After all these years, I have finally learned one thing about tomatoes – when to pull up the plants.  Yep.  I’m a genius.  It’s not time, simply because the plants look like this –

How sad is that tomato bed??  The little blueberry bushes aren’t looking too hot, either.  But, I digress.

It is time to pull up the nasty things when you see THIS languishing on the counter top for WEEKS –

We just won’t even talk about what the bottom of that bowl looked like after I threw out the tomatoes.  If we did, your love for me would die an immediate & final death.  It was so gross.  Why do moms get all the gross jobs?  😦

It probably would be easier to throw the things in the garbage, but that leads to bugs.  I hate bugs worse than rotten tomatoes, so we don’t do that.  We send them to the Tomato Graveyard.

The dog sometimes decides to get one & drop it in the middle of the yard for fun, but he’s cute so we forgive him.  🙂  We don’t have to deal with the bugs or rotting veggie smell, because our yard is a little on the large side.  Here’s the top part –

And from the driveway –

Tomatoes are birthed on the left side of the pic & returned to dust on the right side, just out of the lens range.

Don’t you just feel enlightened by my sharing of our tomatoes’ circle of life?  You know you do.  Actually, I just still haven’t finished the fall decor & felt like writing a post anyway.  Fall mantle tomorrow….hopefully!  There are some sneak peek photos on Facebook.

About doandredo

Hi! I'm Karen & this is my space to relate our remodel adventures. I'm the wife of a (very) patient man, mom to three beautiful teens and one spoiled pooch. My hubby has said (more than once) that even if we bought a brand new home, I'd be repainting it as soon as we moved in. He's right! So come on in & enjoy the fun!

Leave a Reply

