Dining Room to Office

Standard

Um, could someone hit the “Rewind” button so I can see just exactly where this week went?!?!  I can’t really complain since we’re looking at a fabulous weekend weather-wise AND I get a “day off” to hit Atlanta all.by.my.self.  Yes!
So, what will I do in Atlanta??  I’ll be focused on picking up a few things at IKEA (duh!), Container Store, & probably Crate & Barrel.  We are working on turning our dining room into an office/computer room.  As the kids get older, their school work requires more computer time.  The computer was housed in the office, which was in the basement.  There is simply too much junk on the internet for us to not monitor computer use.  Yeah, we have good kids.  But stuff happens & everyone thinks they have “good kids”.  We’re just helping our kids stay good by moving the computer into the dining room.  However, moving the office upstairs into a highly visible area also means moving the files, printer, pens, extra notebooks, labels, etc into a highly visible area.  Right now it looks a little like this…

        

It’s actually a lot cleaner than it was because I did some cleaning up & vacuuming today.  You can thank me later.

That table came from the craft room, which left the craft room as a dumping ground slightly useless room for the moment.  I LOVE the legs on this table.  It is an OLD sewing table & perfect for crafts too since someone added a laminate top to it at some point.  However, those great legs (that you really can’t see right now) do NOT hide a hard drive very well.  Or cords.  And it has no storage, hence the Elfa units on each side.

My Duncan Phyfe table that I inherited (and LOVE) serves as a work space for the hubs.  And he does not like to put away his laptop, so it always looks like this.  What can I say when the rest of the room also looks like a tornado struck…..?

So, we need a little revamping of the space to make it an easy to use & easy to keep clean(er) spot for our computer.  I am a copy cat, as opposed to a creator, so I’ve been searching for a while for some photo inspiration.  Have you ever noticed that pics of home offices rarely if ever show a computer, much less a hard drive??  Perhaps we’re just a bit behind in our technology around here……

Here are some of my favorite ideas for organizing & decorating this space:

Pressed tin tiles on back of bookcase.  I love this look!

shelves from old wooden boxes

 

Crates from Joann's for $9 and stain or paint.

 

We’ll see what I come home with tomorrow night!  Need some curtains (or tablecloths to make into curtains), shelves, bins, maybe floating shelves, and another chair for hubs to use in his spot.  Maybe a different table for his spot….

Have a great weekend!

 

About doandredo

Hi! I'm Karen & this is my space to relate our remodel adventures. I'm the wife of a (very) patient man, mom to three beautiful teens and one spoiled pooch. My hubby has said (more than once) that even if we bought a brand new home, I'd be repainting it as soon as we moved in. He's right! So come on in & enjoy the fun!

Leave a Reply

