Chocolate Mousse Pie

Standard

Another chocolate recipe!  I know you think we only eat chocolate around here, but that is not the case.  We also eat the graham cracker crusts that accompany the chocolate.  🙂

This recipe has been a favorite since before our eldest child was born.  It appears to come from Quick Cooking Magazine.  Is that even still in print?  It was sent in to said magazine by Lois Mulkey of Oregon.  Thank you, Lois!!  Here’s what you need to make Lois Mulkey’s fabulous pie:

1 giant milk chocolate candy bar (with or without almonds, 7 ounce)

16 large marshmallows, or 1-1/2 cups mini marshmallows

1/2 cup milk

2 cups whipping cream, whipped (this is sold in a little 16 oz milk carton type container by the milk in grocery store)  DO NOT buy Cool Whip!  Just sayin’.

1 pie shell, baked OR a graham cracker or chocolate crumb crust

  

Place the candy bar, marshmallows and milk in a heavy saucepan; cook over low heat, stirring constantly until chocolate & marshmallows are melted and mixture is smooth.  Cool.  (**My note:  COOL COMPLETELY.  Warmth kills the whipped cream).  Fold in whipped cream; pour into crust.  Refrigerate or freeze for at least 3 hours (until firm).

It says it makes one pie, but I split it into 2 graham pie shells (9″).  I also buy a 2nd candy bar to break & use as “decoration” on top.  Totally optional.


Now, if you’ll excuse me, I think I’ll go ruin my dinner.  Shhhhh….don’t tell the kids!  😉

Linked to Centsational Girl’s Comfort Food Link Party.

About doandredo

Hi! I'm Karen & this is my space to relate our remodel adventures. I'm the wife of a (very) patient man, mom to three beautiful teens and one spoiled pooch. My hubby has said (more than once) that even if we bought a brand new home, I'd be repainting it as soon as we moved in. He's right! So come on in & enjoy the fun!

Leave a Reply

