Beautiful Day Ramblings

Standard

You ever had one of those days that was just awesome without even trying?  Today is one of those days here at Do & Redo, so I just thought I’d share.  I think it started with the wind.  Do you just love the wind?  I do.  Always have.  I think it’s because it symbolizes freedom to me.  It’s just seems so untamed and free.  The way I have always longed to be.  Thankfully the Lord saw fit to give me a strong sense of responsibility to keep me grounded.  Most of the time.

Where was I?  Oh, the wind.  So, the wind is blowing free here in our little piece of the South & it just inspires me.  Yeah, I had a lot to do today…what else is new.  But today, I drove in dappled sunshine & down 2 lanes with hardwood trees on either side that were raining colorful leaves on my old van as we took care of errands.  Today I had a coupon for free pancakes & enjoyed a chatty waitress.  Today I took my time in the grocery store, planning our weekend with the inlaws in town.  (Grilling burgers & brats tonight!  Yum!)  Today I drove up to our 30 year old fixer upper & noticed the hydrangeas blooming.  Today I threw open the back door to the screened deck & listened to the acorns raining down as I whipped up a Chocolate Chip Pound Cake.

    

Speaking of acorns, my sweet boy LOVES to snack on acorns.  Acorns that we have in abundance around here.  Yeah.  That causes a whole different kind of wind.  Whew!  He may be cute but acorns make him produce toxic smells.  But, I digress… here he his trying to subtly hint that he wants to play fetch.  Or take a nap.  Sometimes it’s hard to tell….

But, back to the cake.  That cake is baking in an electric oven.   Which reminds me how thankful I am for technology.  The dishwasher is humming along, taking care of the breakfast dishes & mixer bowl.  A mixer bowl that mixes without my arms getting tired.  Thank you KitchenAid!

 

The tea maker is taking care of my family’s sweet tea.  (I am the odd ball who only drinks UNsweet tea ’round here.  With lemon, in case you want to bring some by.)  🙂

Upstairs the washing machine & dryer are taking care of loads # 3 & 4 for today.  No washboards, thankyouverymuch.  Although I do have to say that if you are considering a front loader washing machine, DON’T DO IT.  If it was cheaper mistake to “redo”, I would do it.  Right now.  I simply cannot fathom having to CLEAN my washing machine.  That’s absurd to me.  Front loaders must be cleaned.  Regularly.  Just don’t do it.  There’s a reason they went out of style for so long, friend.  Just sayin’.  There’s also a reason I won’t post a pic.  Many more loads are currently sorted on the floor in front of said washer & dryer.   Tunes are blaring on my iPhone as I buzz around the house.  And I get to chat with friends I haven’t met yet, thanks to our PC.  Thank you inventors of technology!

I hope you have a beautiful, rambling Fall day in your neck of the woods!

About doandredo

Hi! I'm Karen & this is my space to relate our remodel adventures. I'm the wife of a (very) patient man, mom to three beautiful teens and one spoiled pooch. My hubby has said (more than once) that even if we bought a brand new home, I'd be repainting it as soon as we moved in. He's right! So come on in & enjoy the fun!

Leave a Reply

