The Little Red Hen

Standard

You remember that old story about The Little Red Hen?  She asks her friends to help her plant wheat, harvest wheat, grind wheat, make bread & they say “no”.  But, then, miraculously when she pulls the yummy bread from the oven all of her friends have time to help eat the bread.  What does she say?  “No.”  (I’m summarizing a bit.)

little red hen

My mom always used that story to illustrate the Biblical principle of “if you don’t work, you don’t eat”.  (Book of Proverbs)  However, as I travel this road of being a mom I have come to realize that the Little Red Hen was on to something.  You see, the whirring (and mostly the subsequent silence) of my KitchenAid mixer has apparent magical powers.  It summons my children without fail.  Also without fail is their request to lick the bowl and/or beater.  (You see where this is going, right?)  One day, my evil twin decided to step in & mimic the wise hen.  It went something like this:

Kids: “Mom!  You’re making a cake?!” (like it isn’t an every-other-day occurrence)

Me Evil Twin:  “Yep.”

Kids: “Can we lick the bowl?”

Evil Twin:  “Did you crack the eggs?”  (he, he, he)

Kids: “no-ooo”

Evil Twin:  “Did you soften the butter?  Or help measure the ingredients?

Kids: “no-oo…..but we didn’t know you were going to make anything!” (again, like it isn’t every-other-day)

Evil Twin:  “Too bad.  I think I’ll lick the bowl & beater.”  And I, um my Evil Twin that is, proceeded to savor the experience.  Right. in. front. of. them.

Yeah.  I know.  Turn me in.  Sometimes it pays to be the mom.  🙂  I can tell you they now either offer to help ahead of time or don’t bother to come down unless I announce that I have spoons of cookie dough or cake batter for them.  (Yes, we eat raw dough & no, we have never gotten sick from it.)

*My disclaimer – I did not do this until my kids were over the age of 10 & very much able to help in the kitchen.

About doandredo

Hi! I'm Karen & this is my space to relate our remodel adventures. I'm the wife of a (very) patient man, mom to three beautiful teens and one spoiled pooch. My hubby has said (more than once) that even if we bought a brand new home, I'd be repainting it as soon as we moved in. He's right! So come on in & enjoy the fun!

Leave a Reply

